Committee 2020/21

Heather Graham


Heather became a member of the theatre in 2008 when she was asked by a director to help with props for a play. This started Heather’s involvement, and now you will mostly find her behind the scenes working as a stage manager or as an assistant to the director. She loves working with the wonderful and dedicated committee members and agreed to come back on committee this year and has taken on the role of Front of House roster co-ordinator.  

Merv Beets

Vice President

Merv has been involved with 16th Ave Theatre since moving back to Tauranga in 2000. He enjoys being on committee with a wonderful team and assisting with the running of the theatre. He has appeared on stage in many musicals and plays and worked in all areas backstage. He now enjoys directing which has become his main focus.

David Guy

Vice President

Vera Prince


Vera joined 16th Avenue Theatre in 2007, and joined the committee shortly after. Her responsibilities include, treasurer and wardrobe for some productions and costume hire.  Vera comes from an accounting background, and is a talented mezzo-soprano, currently running “Upbeat” a women’s singing group which perform in and around Tauranga.

Sue Laurence


Julie Lankshear


Julie has been a member of the theatre since the early 70’s and has seen many changes – all of them good. She believes we have a theatre the envy of any Amateur Theatre in the country and has served on the committee for many years. Presently Julie is looking after the membership and heading the Play Reading Sub Committee. Planning is underway for years to come!

Joanne Cornwall


Shelley Francis


John ten Velde


Trish Valois